Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

family: "Times New Roman","serif";mso-ascii-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-hansi-theme-font: major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">illiteracy is a less discussed problem in our modern world, but one which may have drastic effect on individuals and the community as a whole. There seem to be two main causes and a number of effects, which we will discuss here.

family:"Times New Roman","serif";mso-ascii-theme-font: major-bidi;mso-hansi-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">Possibly the main contributing factor to illiteracy can be family poverty. Not only does this factor seem to be the root cause of depriving children of education, it may lead to family instability in all most disadvantaged families. Therefore, in these families, pursuing academic education is virtually prohibitive practice. A further well-known cause appear to be low parental education. illiterate parents are less likely to send their children to school, meaning that they are not care about their children educational future. For example, overwhelming majority of children who live in slum areas, their parents are illiterate, and their children have been left with little alternative. Thus, these two causes can easily affect illiteracy in our today world.

family:"Times New Roman","serif";mso-ascii-theme-font: major-bidi;mso-hansi-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">The effect of this problem on people and the society can be drastically serious. In the term of individuals, it may lead to low self-esteem. Such people seem to be face numerous problems in their day-to-day life just because of their lack of ability to read, and not only are they able to tackle them solely, they are virtually depend on others. this situation appears to drastically reduce their confidence to deal with the problems by their own. As far as impact of illiteracy on community is concerned, these members of society can put numerous burdens on government, mainly in terms of financial and social issues. For example, in many developing and less developed countries, like Iran and Afghanistan, a vast majority of their budges seem to be allocated to combatting crimes which back to illiteracy. As can be seen lack of ability can adversely affect people and their community as well.

family: "Times New Roman","serif";mso-ascii-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-hansi-theme-font: major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">Overall, family poverty and parents’ lack of education seem to be the main causes, and they can deteriorate individuals’ self-confidence and put a lot of financial and social pressure on states.

family: "Times New Roman","serif";mso-ascii-theme-font:major-bidi;mso-hansi-theme-font: major-bidi;mso-bidi-theme-font:major-bidi">