Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Illiteracy is a less-discussed problem in our modern world, but one which may have a drastic effect on individuals and the community. There seem to be two main causes and a number of effects, which we will discuss here.

Possibly the main contributing factor to illiteracy can be family poverty. Not only does this factor seem to be the root cause of depriving children of education, but it may also lead to family instability in all most disadvantaged families. Therefore, in these families, pursuing academic education is virtually prohibitive practice. A further well-known cause appear to be low parental education. Illiterate parents are less likely to send their children to school, meaning that they do not care about their children educational future. For example, an overwhelming majority of children who live in slum areas, their parents are illiterate, and their children have been left with little alternative. Thus, these two causes can easily affect illiteracy in our today world.

The effect of this problem on people and society can be drastically serious. In the term of individuals, it may lead to low self-esteem. Such people seem to face numerous problems in their day-to-day life just because of their lack of ability to read, and not only are they able to tackle them solely, they virtually depend on others. This situation appears to drastically reduce their confidence to deal with the problems on their own. As far as the impact of illiteracy on the community is concerned, these members of society can put numerous burdens on government, mainly in terms of financial and social issues. For example, in many developing and less developed countries, like Iran and Afghanistan, a vast majority of their budgets seem to be allocated to combatting crimes which back to illiteracy. As can be seen, a lack of ability can adversely affect people and their community as well.

Overall, family poverty and parents’ lack of education seem to be the main causes, and they can deteriorate individuals’ self-confidence and put a lot of financial and social pressure on states.