(improved ) Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Economic progress is seen by many politicians as their main aim. At the same time, some aver that attention ought to be paid not only to economic progress but to other types of advancement as well in even proportions. Below both prospects will be discussed and author’s opinion will be given.

On the one hand, maintenance and buttressing of economic progress often has the highest priority for many governments because strong and vigorous economy benefits a society in many ways. For instance, there are a plethora of jobs available, employees’ salaries are growing, revenue of businesses keeps increasing and overall standards of living are rocketing. Consequently, if economy is kept in a great shape, the voters will be contented and thus will vote for the elected officials who have brought them the prosperity. From this prospect government’s attitude to that economics is reasonable.

On the other hand, it seems that progress should not be neglected. Although those other types of progress are less propelled by the mass media and they are not usually mentioned in speeches, such progress as technological one has been having a great impact on the humankind for many centuries. In fact, this advancement has shaped our cities, homes and even the way we live. For instance, all means of transportation and communication are fruits that have been brought to the mankind by technological progress. Moreover, there is scientific, moral and other types of it and they all play a considerable role in maintaining healthy functioning of a modern society. Thus, all types of progress seem to be evenly important.

Finally, in my opinion, although there is indeed a wide range of progress that has effect on the way the humans live, I think that they aren’t equally important because economy underpins functioning of any country. Moreover, it is essential for other types of progress because if there is a sluggish economy, there will be no resources available to develop new technologies or moral codes.