The increase in the number of privately-owned cars is having a negative impact on both our towns and the environment. What can individuals and the government do to reduce this problem?

It is an undeniable fact that today means of transportation such as cars are readily accessible almost to everyone. This essay will explain in detail how the ascending number of private cars is causing air pollution and traffic jams and how people and the government can mitigate these issues by raising the taxes for fuel and passing a law to use public vehicles to commute are potential solutions.

As a starting point of discussion, one consequence of this phenomenon would definitely be air pollution. This is because these cars consume a significant amount of fuel and as a result, emit toxic gases in the air, which pollutes our towns and environment. Consequently, people breathe these toxins via air and suffer from a variety of respiratory ailments. Take smog as an example, which is one of the most threatening air problems these days, as many cases of respiration issues have already been reported worldwide. To combat this matter, both individuals and governments should play their role by using cars needlessly and by applying higher taxes to the fuel, respectively.

Not only there is an issue of air pollution, but traffic congestion is also a paramount problem to take into account. Since most of the people can afford their own cars today, higher traffic jams are on the roads. For this reason, people are unable to reach their destinations on time. To tackle this issue, governments should enforce a law of using public transport for the traveling purpose despite the profession, age, and gender. Once the masses will abide by this law, there will be fewer traffic jams and thus, they will reach their destinations on time.

In conclusion, air pollution and traffic congestion are the two significant problems because of private cars; however, these problems could be resolved via not using cars unnecessarily, by applying higher taxes on fuel, and a law-enforcement to use public means of transport.