An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible?

In today’s society, there is a marked increase in the consumption of consumer goods due to population growth. Furthermore, over the past decade, the natural environment has undergone considerable degradation. While it is true that consumer goods production has an undeniable relationship with the environment, there are some solutions we can explore to tackle this problem.

Nowadays, in the stress, we can easily find that the petrol cars are gradually being replaced by electric cars. From the customer’s perspective, people think that using automatic vehicles has a positive environmental impact. However, cobalt, a critical mineral for electric car batteries, is very rare. Improper disposal of these batteries can contaminate the water resources, which are home to many aquatic animals. Moreover, by using this unclear water source for a long time, people's health is threatened by many chronic diseases such as cancer or renal impairment. Another reason is the essential role of plastic in production processes, packaging, and transportation. Some studies show that about 90% of plastic materials are discarded directly into the environment, bypassing waste treatment processes. An increase in goods production would lead to a rise in this number, which means more garbage or plastic bags would be discarded and pose a detrimental effect on the environment, also our home and that of countless species.

Some solutions could be taken to solve this environmental problem. In terms of vehicles, companies should prioritize research and development of materials with a longer lifespan or decompose naturally. Moreover, the government should minimize plastic consumption by implementing a higher tax on plastic compared to other environmentally friendly alternatives such as paper.

In conclusion, it's clear that the production process directly affects the environment. Increasing taxes on environmentally unfriendly practices or materials can be part of the solution.