An increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. Why is this the case, and what solutions are possible?

It is true that the more goods are being produced and consumed, the more damaging to the environment it is. This essay will discuss the prime reasons for this problem, and possible solutions will be mentioned.

There are various reasons why the natural environment is negatively affected by human actions. Firstly, a rise in good production means more things for people to buy and consume, and they, therefore, need more plastic or non-recycled holders. These bags can last for thousands of years and destroy the natural habitats on Earth. Secondly, during daily activities, factories release carbon dioxide and chemical waste. Carbon dioxide causes air pollution, leading to global warming and climate changes, and toxic waste can pollute water sources and kills the wildlife that depends on clean water.

Several measures can be taken to help address these issues. Regarding air and water pollution, governments may introduce a ‘Green economy’ policy that forces companies and factories to follow. The high penalties and strict punishment for companies which go against the policy may force managers to find alternative production methods that are more environmentally friendly. Governments could also promote campaigns that encourage people to use recycled bags, and supermarkets could help the campaigns by charging plastic bags at higher prices or replacing all those bags with bio-degradable ones. Individuals may do their own part in protecting the environment by stopping using environmentally unfriendly materials irresponsibly.

In conclusion, production in factories and consumption worldwide is the leading causes of environmental destruction, which can be stopped with joint actions from governments, companies, and individuals.