The expansion of the tourism sector in developing nations is an alarming trend, and there are some reasons for this kind of development which has resulted in both positive and negative development for the society. This essay will explain the reasons for this ongoing trend and its merits and demerits in a detailed manner.

The prominent reason for developing tourism in a country is due to the economic benefits that it brings. The well-developed tourism industry creates a lot of new businesses and jobs for local people, and an influx of money from foreign tourists. In addition to this, promoting international tourism can help to improve relations with other nations by sharing a country's culture and customs with people across the globe. Apart from this, many people these days are interested in learning about different cultures and ways of living, and tourism helps to facilitate this experience.

However, there are a number of drawbacks that arise from the expansion of a country's tourism industry. For instance, in many countries in South East Asia, tourism has been a major cause of environmental pollution and destruction. Many tourists generally drink bottled water when on holiday, this creates mountains of plastics waste every year. And, many emerging nations do have a proper means of recycling methods and facilities to encounter such kind of problem. Therefore, it commonly ends up littered throughout the countryside, rivers, seas, beaches, and oceans. Moreover, the invasion of tourists into certain places can disrupt the local wildlife and ecosystems causing further environmental damage.

In conclusion, I would have to say that expanding of tourism industry in a developing country is a positive development if it is properly managed and the environmental and cultural impacts are closely monitored and minimized.