An increasing number of people are buying what they need online.

What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

World has entered into a digital era where everything is available online. This makes shopping easier and hence the rise in the trend of purchasing online. This essay will explore both advantages and disadvantages of online shopping.

On one hand, firstly, a person can easily purchase any item online on less price than available at store as the vendors who are selling online don’t have to pay rents for physical shops. Also, there are numerous websites and mobile applications that are comparing the prices of different products and giving cheap options to users. For example, I had purchased a mobile plan online by comparing it with various dealers on a single website. Furthermore, shopping has become easier than ever as a person can even order weekly groceries from an online store that will be delivered at his house without any extra cost. This way he can skip the long queues and spend that time on working on any project or relaxing with family.

On the other hand, with the online shopping comes the security issues of hacking or identity theft, that is, malicious softwares are being used by the hackers to get the bank details of the person and transfer the money into their account without the knowledge of the owner. For instance, such as incident had happened to one of my friend. As soon as his salary transferred to his account, the hackers moved it to their account. Additionally, the selling of counterfeit products are on the rise through these websites. People only check the brand and place order without being knowing whether it is a genuine product or not. Many people fell into this trap and news channels are informing about these incidents on daily basis.

In conclusion, although purchasing online makes life easier but security issues of hacking, identity theft and selling of fake items are on the rise also. So, government needs to take steps to tackle these issues and people have to be careful while shopping online.