Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Information technology is altering people's lifestyle which can be seem through established dominance of it over professional and recreational activities. Though they have deteriorated the quality of family time, computers and the internet is making human life more and more convenient.

To begin with the detrimental effects of information technology, weakening of the family relationships is noteworthy to consider. In other words, due to Information technology based smartphones have made the family members to fall apart. This can be deduced from the frequent incidents of divorce. Such issues are occuring due to over-usage of smartphones and social media, which make people engaged talking with individuals other than family members.

On the bright side, the advantages of information technology at work place is uncountable. Namely, it has enabled a digital meeting through the internet. Such type meetings could be scheduled while people from different parts of the world may need to talk for any kind of important decision. Moreover, this kind of web-meetings can be employed as an appropriate alternative while any pandemic situation like COVID-19 is going on. Additionally, computers are utilized to prepare many attractive presentations and reports at offices. This could benefit in exchanging detailed information pertaining to regular reports like an annual financial report. Besides at work place, computers are also helpful at home for children for their holistic development. On computers, young people, not only play brain games but they also take part in some educational programmes.

Undoubtedly, there are few critical drawbacks of smartphones. I, however, believe the advantages of computers are far greater at work as well as at home.