The internet has brought significant changes to our lives in recent years. Yet, there remains some disagreement as to whether the overall effect of this technology has been positive or negative. While there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I personally believe that the benefits of the internet far outweigh its drawbacks. These benefits are twofold.

First, it is an indisputable fact that the internet has revolutionized the way we communicate. Despite the risk of social isolation- problem occasionally seen in people who spend too much time at their computer terminal rather than relating to people in the real world- most of us have benefited greatly from email and internet chat programs like MSN. These incredibly useful and powerful tools of communication facilitate both contacts with loved ones in faraway places and global trade. Equally importantly, thought the internet has placed the entire world at our fingertips.

In earlier times, conducting researching entailed long hours searching library shelves. Now, however, the same information can be accessed at a click of a button. Admittedly, not all the information available on the internet is reliable or helpful- there is a vast amount of material online that some would consider offensive or dangerous ranging from pornography to instructions on how to make bombs. Nonetheless, I would contend that this free flow of information has generally been a very positive development.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that the internet has had a positive impact on modern life because of its influence on communication and the flow of information.