Internet social media have become very popular. To what extent do you think this is a good or bad thing? Why do you think this is the case?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, cyber social networking is used by each and every one. While some people see it as a positive development, their opponents are in disagreement. As for me, Internet social media has more benefits than drawbacks, so I am strongly supportive of the former above point of view. Let me explain my position, and the reasons for the argument followed.

First, social media are an integral part of modern life. It seems to be impossible to live without Facebook, WhatsApp, Instagram or Snapchat, and this is the case especially for young people. With such a high-speed life, using social networking becomes an extremely convenient way to stay in touch with others, make new contacts, share experiences and information. Moreover, with the help of such technologies, some new professions, like a Social Network Specialist, Specialist of Marketing on Facebook, etc., have appeared and allowed many people to have a job without leaving their homes. Therefore, social media are highly beneficial to society.

On the other hand, people who continuously use social media might become addicted to them. Instead of real-live communication, many people, especially teenagers, spend hours just staring at the screens and looking at pictures of others. Also, they expect to receive a comment, a message or a 'thumb up' on their posts. Such desire happens because receiving positive feedback from someone makes a person feel happy, the same way as it happens from taking drugs. Scientists claim that every third school child is addicted to their social accounts and spends at least 10 hours a day, sending and receiving messages. It affects their education and causes health problems. Unfortunately, this issue is a significant drawback of cybersocial media.

To conclude, Internet social media should be considered as a positive development. Despite the risk of addiction, social network platforms benefit people by building their connections, transferring information, and opening new professional opportunities.