Internet social media have become very popular. To what extent do you think this is a good or bad thing? Why do you think this is the case?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Social media websites have become popular in recent years. However, while I believe that it has some detrimental effects on people, I also think that there are many benefits of using online social media sites, such as Facebook and Instagram, among people including young and adult.

To begin with, social websites are mainly fruitful for a majority of the people because of the benefits to individuals, such as an easy source of communication, sharing similar interest on it, and get rid of loneliness. It has become extremely easy to communicate using these sites, especially video-calling on social networking applications such as Facebook and Whatsup. Most people, for instance, share their opinions on different topics of their interest, it is the best platform for them to share their thoughts.

Despite these advantages of online public websites, there are few disadvantages as well, such as less face to face interaction, the disappearance of cultural values, and the social community breakdown. As a consequence, people hardly get free time to interact with their neighbors and friends due to more focus on their internet friends, whom they have never met before.

However, if people use online social media properly then they can have many benefits of using the internet. But, if they ignore people, whom they know face-to-face, for their online friends, who are new to them then it could be negative for them. Therefore, it completely depends on individuals how to use social media for their inter-personal skills. Instead of chatting with people from different countries, they should interact with people who are living around them.

To sum up, we should use these shared websites properly for our personal benefits rather wasting our crucial time on chatting with unknown people, whom we have never met. Moreover, they should focus on their own culture and people rather spending time with others, who are from different nations.