It is better for young to get advice from older people than young people.

Do you agree or disagree?

At some point or the other, each individual needs a piece of advice from another person to deal with their confusion either in their personal or professional life. It is a popular belief that instead of youngsters, elders should be approached for better guidance. In this essay, I shall refer to some sociological studies and examples to support the general opinion.

To begin with, conventional wisdom has it that the older the wiser. In other words, people acquire an astronomical amount of knowledge as they grow, and learn numerous lessons about life from their own experiences. Therefore, youth benefits from the provision of long-term insight into outcomes of any decision they make, if enlightened by an elder. For instance, while choosing a career path, a teenager requires counseling by their teachers or parents rather than by their peers because they possess a wider spectrum of information regarding career prospects. Moreover, older people might even relate better to a child, if they had experienced a similar dilemma in their childhood. However, friends would not be adequately helpful in such situations.

In addition to this, old people have significantly better understanding skills as compared to the younger ones. Furthermore, it is a well-known fact that youngsters are impulsive. On the contrary, mature people have effective control over their minds and are mentally more stable. To exemplify, a recent study by Human Psychological Institute shows that teenagers make impulsive decisions, which may cause repercussions, whereas, adults are composed and make decisions with sensible thinking. Hence, the maturity of older people have superior influence over the youngsters if they take their advice, on the other hand, it could be precarious otherwise.

Having seen the above points, it can be concluded that advice by younger individuals could be inconvenient for the person. Conversely, it is incontrovertible that suggestions by elders are indeed far beneficial.