It is generally believed that education is of vital importance to individual development and the well-being of societies. What should education consist of to fulfill both these functions?

it is a common belief that education plays an important role in shaping a person as an individual, as well as an upstanding member of the community. this essay will first discuss the necessary components that should be added into the curriculum for preparing children as an individual, yet responsible citizen, followed by the reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, several tools could be made a compulsory part of education to prepare youngsters for the future role of a society. On the first hand, curriculum needs to be revised by adding a sustained process of teaching, which consist of courses, viz. the moral values and character building, thus giving them education about values of caring about other people, honesty, responsibility, hard work, forgiveness and other important traits that make for an upstanding citizen . For instance, making students learn and adopt, moral and ethical values by presenting them examples of societal ethical norms and values and making them practice those values. Consequently, it will raise them as an ethical and responsible individuals to the society.

However, on the other hand, to make the young minds independent and successful individuals, academics are required to add courses that are professional, practical oriented, highly employable and represents flexible pathway into such industries which are only set to grow and expand. To illustrate, fields such as science, medicine, law, architecture, accounting, and engineering. In this way, the pupils in the foreseeable future could be able to land a well-paid job to earn livelihood and could manage their families efficiently.

To conclude, to see children as upstanding individuals of the community it is required to impart both professional along with character-building components in the academic system.