It is generally believed that education is of vital importance to the development of individuals and the well-being of societies. What should education consist of to fulfill both these functions?

Education is critical for both society and each person in it, this is a common belief worldwide. To help an individual grow, I believe education should be able to teach not only textbook knowledge, but also ways for critical thinkings. For the development of society as a whole, education is supposed to be accessible to the general public.

Gaining the textbook knowledge, which is the most common understanding of education, is no doubt necessary and important. This is the most efficient way of learning. Beyond that, education should introduce another equally essential skill called critical thinking. If people ignorantly believe in things they learned from the past, they would stop making progress. Historical evidence can be found easily. Galilei was named as the founding father of modern astronomy because he was able to challenge Geocentric, which is the most common belief at his time. Being critical to what he learned from the textbooks helped him to achieve more in his career.

In order to make progress collectively, education must be accessible to the majority. Take China for an example, back to the 1930s, 95% of the population did not know how to write their names. However, there were a lot of influential Chinese writers, artists, and philosophers in the 30s. Some people call the 1930s as the age of intelligence in China. Contradicted to the flourish of great minds, was the poor condition China was. The country was semi colonized by western countries and people in it were in great poverty. Clearly China today, as one of the superpowers in the world, is more developed and influential as a whole than China was in the 1930s. This is because the general public is more educated than before. Education, which was a privilege, now is a right for the whole Chinese society.

To summarize, for the individual’s development, education should teach textbook knowledge and critical thinking skills at the same time; to benefit society, education should be as accessible as possible to the public.