Some people want the government to spend money in looking for life on other planets, but others think it is a waste of public money as there are many problems need to be solved on the earth.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are many debates on whether the government should invest money in searching lives in space or not. People demand on searching lives on other planets believe this could provide a solution to overpopulation on earth. People disagree with such action believe this is a waste of money and we should better use those money on problems that are happening on earth. I partly agree with both opinions and I believe they are not mutually exclusive.

Earth is facing severe problems from overpopulation and so far we do not have an applicable solution to it. If this situation continues, these problems could lead humankind to extinction. If there are lives on other planets, humans could have an alternative choice beside earth. People can migrate to the new planet and the population pressure on earth can be reduced. Therefore, spending money on finding life on another planet would be worthy and useful for humankind in general.

Some people, however, suggest focussing on issues that are happening on the earth. Many problems we are having now such as human trafficking need to be solved sooner or later. With more financial help from an authority, these problems could be improved dramatically. For example, if we can provide complimentary childcare, there would be less children being left unprotected while their parents are unavailable. As a result, there would be less chances for ill-intended people to conduct human trafficking.

In my opinion, both opinions have their own advantages and they can co-exist. Money spent on looking for a new life can be a good investment for the whole humankind. At the same time, there are many issues on the earth that demand money to be solved as soon as possible. However, if we divide the money wisely, both purposes can be fulfilled.