It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, It is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.Discuss both these views

The nurture versus nature debate has been one of the oldest issues in psychology. Many psychologists believe that athletes and musicians are born, while others argue that they can be made. This essay will present two theories behind the success of superstar athletes and musical geniuses who made it in the charts of history.

One psychologist suggests that a person must spend atleast 10,000 hours of deliberate practice in order to master a skill and become as an expert in a certain field. This is the reason why many parents subject their children to training at a very young age. Further, they believe that if their kids will get an early headstart, it will give them greater advantage to become succesful later in life. One example is Rafael Nadal, former world tennis number one, who started to play tennis even before he learned to talk. Because of his early exposure to coaching and training, he became the youngest tennis player to turn professional at tender age of sixteen. Another good example is competitive swimmer, Michael Phelps, who learned to swim before he could walk and later became the first person to win twenty eight Olympic gold medals.

On the otherhand, many experts debunk the 10,000-hour training theory. They believe that some people are born with talents hidden in their DNA. Thus, no amount of sweat can guarantee the road to greatness unless you are naturally gifted at something. Based on observations of musical geniuses in the likes of Mozart and Beethoven, these musicians discovered and developed their gift not through formal training, but they first learned to play piano by ear and vibrations unlike normal people who learned to read musical notes first. In fact, many renowned artists and performers were self-taught and feel that music is second nature to them.

To conclude, we can all argue which theory is the secret ingredient to excellence in a chosen field. None of the two can be said as better than the other, as both views have presented strong evidences to be equally effective.