Is it good for children to start using computers from an early age and spend long hours on them? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

Children, like adults, of late, have become heavily reliant on computers. While some psychologists claim that it is beneficial to expose children to computer devices, others stress on the fact that such practices harms children mentally and isolates them from the society. This essay discusses some of the considerable benefits and worrying drawbacks related to this trend.

To begin with, kids, of this generation, would love to spend a prodigious amount of time on desktops be it for education or gaming purpose. Parents, however, are worried that this increased inclination towards those machines can be extremely detrimental to the mental health as well as promoting isolation to youngsters. This is because, the dependence on these devices is built up frighteningly easy and this eventually paves way for complete addiction to these devices. Furthermore, increased exposure to those machines subject children to the radiation emitted from them which compromises the health of teenagers. The well renowned blue whale game, played on the internet, for instance, has claimed lives of many youngsters which persuades the young players to lose their lives as an accomplishment of the game. Nevertheless, the game was banned by governments to prevent further fatalities.

On the contrary, although there have been evidences of computers inculcating seclusion, these are so statistically rare as to be negligible. The overwhelming majority of pupils reap plethora of benefits by constantly accessing computers. In this contemprary world, it is imminent to be more than a computer literate for a foreseeable future and for better job prospects. As the Information Technology sector is booming and is not set to be outdated, schools can prioritize computer classes even more. Google employees, for example, when interviewed, professed that they were able to land this job with ease owing to the reason that they studied computing languages such as Java during their teenage period.

To conclude, even though there are cons associated with subjecting children to computers include long term isolation and causing health complications, significant pros such as ease of landing a job early and preventing them from being outdated continue to exist. Gauging both, I strongly advocate the view that children must regularly use computers to reap enormous benefit, despite some health hazards that parents and teachers should be wary of when kids use these digital devices.