It has been noticed that recent young people are spending their leisure time in shopping centers but not engaging their selves in other activities such as sport or music.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

How children and adolescents are supposed to spend their free time has long been a controversial issue. Nowadays, it is obvious that youngsters prefer to spend their spare time in shopping malls rather than doing sports or other activities such as music. It is argued whether this development is beneficial or not. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument before a reasoned conclusion is drawn.

Those who support the idea of children spending more time in shopping malls than in doing sports believe that young people should be allowed to enjoy their time with their friends, and shopping malls are the best venues for that. For example, now shopping centers do not only consist of shops, but also cinemas, food court outlets, as well as high-end restaurants. Hence, youngsters can easily do more than one activity in the same place. That makes it clear why the fact that adolescents tend to spend more time in leisure centers has garnered support.

Despite these reasons, opponents of the fact that children spend less time sporting or practicing hobbies have more convincing reasons; First, doing sports regularly is crucial for children and youth due to its concomitant health benefits. Second, Exercising nurture their minds, souls and bodies. Moreover, practicing sports in teams trigger children to compete and maintain a healthy social relationship with their friends. Finally, practicing hobbies are imperative and extremely advantageous. Music has been proved to be benificial, furthermore, it helps youngsters in focusing and relaxes their minds, which is why it is obvious that children ought to spend more time doing spots and practicing hobbies as music.

In conclusion, although spending leisure time in shopping centers may seem more preferable and enjoyable for young people, I agree that it is not a positive development, owing to the numerous positive effects of exercising and music. That is why parents are recommended to encourage their offspring to spend their time wisely.