It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Draw a distinction between good and bad is one of the imperative skills that should be taught from the primary ages of individuals. It is becoming increasingly common that people persist to punishment for teaching this particular skill to children. From my perspective, I find this statement completely disagreeable and I think there are other steps that can be taken for achieving this goal rather than penalties.

Some people hold the idea which is punishment as an essential approach for training children in distinguishing between right and wrong. I completely refuted this method of fostering due to some clear negative results. The first and foremost, statistics show that the more punishment in childhood was, the more risk of crime in future will. To dig a little deeper, an individual who had a troubled childhood would be imposed of crime more than a person who had a carefree childhood. Another argument in rebutting it is the irreparable casualties in children’s sprit has been becoming from penalties. Punishment make them cynical to everything even their parents and hurt their feelings. The last but not least, punishment plays a significant role in willing of people to tell lie. To sum up, punishment is rejected for considering as a mean of teaching skill to children.

I definitely believe that there are other better approaches for training children. Children are affected by their dear and near ones such as parents or educationalist. So, they could teach them by indirect way. To be more specific, parents must learn them practically by their function in choosing between good and bad in various circumstances of life. Besides, they should talk to their offspring about the benefits that they can reap by opting right choice. In these ways, draw a distinction between right and wrong can be institutionalized in children’s mindset without any negative side effects.

In conclusion, it seems to me that punishment should be omitted from teaching tools and other logical approaches such as indirect and practical method and be aware of results should be superseded.