It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

There is an opinion asserting that the ability to differentiate right and wrong from early ages for offsprings is of paramount importance, and even punishing is essential in this respect. I, for one, understand that children are better to be learned how to adopt the right behavior. Punishment, however, can be a moot point whether it is truly vital or not, and if it is, it seems that not severe ones should be permitted to be employed.

To begin with, there exist some compelling reasons behind the fact that punishing children for misbehaving is both technically and morally wrong. First and foremost, teachers and parents should act as role models. Should children be surrounded with acceptable behavior of people around them, they are bound to imitate those actions that they see and hear. Here, investing in teachers and parents’ ways of treating their young children would contribute to not needing to consider punishment at all. Second, being innocent and craving others’ kindness constantly, any means of punishment would be aking to deeply hurting them unintentionally. Thus, any act of punishing these young boys and girls would have negative effects on them.

However, parents and teachers could still apply some means of not severe punishment. Firstly, any sort of physical punishment should be banned..That being said, Showing them what they are doing wrong by absolute kindness in conjunction with complimentary words of their prior nice behavior or achievements are salient illustrations in this regard. Secondly, if it is absolutely required to stand in front of a child’s unacceptable action, some sanctions, which clearly are not of a physical nature nor in any way cruel can be practical. Take detention, loss of privileges, and time-out as examples; these disciplinary methods lead to much better future behavior than does punishment.

In conclusion, I am entirely against this notion that children should be punished to tell right from wrong. Instead, I advocate educating fathers and mothers, as well as instructors, first in terms of how to cope with children’s behavioral problems. If necessary, however, kind but firm approaches will achieve more than harsh punishment when a child misbehaves.