Smoking not only harms smokers, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientists claim that smoking not only leads to health problems for smokers, but also for those who breathe smoke of others’ cigarette. As a consequence, smoking should not be allowed in public. I strongly advocate a ban as the most appropriate course of action.

To begin with, no benefit has been discovered in smoking yet. Many wonder what the fundamental reason of this action is. To explain more, human basic needs such as food, a place to live, proper clothing and starting a family are completely understandable. However, there is no compulsory evidence that proves using cigarette is a necessity of life. Based on scientific researches conducted in recent years, the main reason of this vice of modern life is nothing but an illusion. As a matter of fact, smokers falsely believe that when they smoke, it gives them a relief; however, it is just in their mind and is considered only about a bad habit, not more.

Furthermore, this phenomenon is not without effects on both smokers and passive smokers. Passive smokers are ones who breathe the smoke of other people’s cigarette, which this can result in irreversible physical repercussions on both aforementioned groups. Lungs problems and heart diseases among them are obvious examples. In addition, most specialists are of the opinion that smoking note only have bad effects on body, but also on the mind and the way of thinking. Based on a study carried out in the UK in 2019, which corroborates the above information, over 85% of people who had been smoking for over ten years, were suffering from various illnesses. This study revealed that the smoking rate in society, particularly among the youth, has escalated greatly.

In conclusion, although a ban might seem too harsh, it, indeed, will prevent so many physical and mental risks for both smokers and passive ones.