Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

Foreign movies and domestic films have been fighting in an unfair battle in many countries during the past decades. It is true that many opt for foreign films instead of local ones to watch. There are a number of compelling reasons behind this phenomenon. Local film industry, however, ought to be financially endorsed by governments in order to compete with its overseas counterparts.

To begin with, there exist some convincing facts why foreign movies are preferred more. First and foremost, having the leading roles in the most robust movies, these full-fledged actors and actresses are unbelievably popular, and in turn, pique many people’s interests around the world. Second, the high quality of foreign versions, from acting to sound effects, are by no means negligible. Take Hollywood movies and series as examples, they are produced with the most advanced means of equipment and technology. Therefore, people would crave watching the mentioned pieces of work due to their fantastic scenes and acting.

This can be turned around, however, with financial incentives for local filmmakers provided by government. Firstly, in order to compete with the international film industry, indigenous film producers require the same equipment. Cutting-edge computers for post-production, up-to-date lighting kit, and suitable sound recorders are salient illustrations in this respect. More number of competent and skilled artists and directors are also needed. For this reason, a huge amount of funding and attention is required to train all-around actors and actresses who people love watching.

In conclusion, owing to the fact that foreign films attract much more attention than do domestic versions, governments should allocate budgets so that local film producers could access more modern equipment and educate better artists.