It is important that we maintain and protect the beautiful building of the past, even if it is expensive for countries to do so.

Do you agree with this statement?

Buildings are being constructed to cater to housing needs, offices, shopping complex, etc. Every now and then a new building is being constructed using better technology and compliments modern cities. In this essay, I will discuss whether old buildings should be protected even if it is costly for the landlords to maintain them.

There is a growing competition among various nations to build the best in class buildings with all the modern amenities. They are building skyscrapers to showcase their strength and economic superiority. For instance, Dubai is building a new tower which will be the tallest in the world and will have modern offices, shopping centres and luxurious hotels to mention a few. However, in doing so, the government shouldn't ignore the importance of buildings of the past.

Old buildings are the symbol of our history and are of great archaeological importance to the nation. They should be protected in order to retain the historic roots on which the nation is built. For example, there are various monuments which are covered by Indian archaeological department as important buildings and are protected. An adequate government support should be in place to help in the maintenance of these buildings.

It is undeniable that modern building in today's world is a necessity for any nation to grow but the old buildings should also be given the due importance they deserve. In my opinion, it is essential that beautiful old buildings are preserved, however, there should be some support from the government in ensuring their safety and maintenance.