It is more important to have a good family than to have friends. Family can always compensate for the absence of friendship. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that a strong relationship among family members should take precedence over the friendships with outsiders as families can always make it up for poor socialization. I disagree with this belief.

It is understandable why people give preference in having a good family rather than extending social connections. One reason is that a close-knit family could help individuals feel more secure and supported. Unlike the relationships with strangers and colleagues, family relationship is usually stronger and long-lasting as members of the same family have better mutual understandings than anyone else from the outside world. Therefore, it would be more comfortable to share people’s personal issues with their close relatives and receive a trust-worthy piece of advice. With friends, secrets may be unsafe and suggestions could be less trusty. This is why a family is preferred to fully rely on for some people.

However, it is quite wrong to conclude that family always compensates for the lack of friendship. One reason to support my standpoint is that, in this busy life, people cannot completely count on their family with every problem, especially ones that are related to their career. The support from family stops at good advice and thus, cannot directly impact on people’s at-work issues. This is when the social relationship with co-workers takes its role. If individuals have a wide social connection, they can actually ask for supportive actions from the surrounding colleagues to really solve their concurrent problems which family cannot physically interfere with. This is the reason why family can merely provide mental support and thus, definitely cannot compensate for poor social experience.

In conclusion, I would argue that the absence of friendship cannot always be compensated by having a good family. To survive in the modern life, people should have a balanced relationship with both family and acquaintances.