It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argued that it is more reasonable for children to focus on gaining knowledge about the history of their owned country rather than that of the other countries. While I accept that national history is important, I believe that world history also a valuable documents that children should be encouraged to learn.

It is undeniable that schoolchildren should learn about local history as a compulsory subject. (1) Firstly, since each country have a long established and developed history, studying local history allows children aware of the remarkable events of the nation in the past and foster a sense of belonging. For instance, over 4000 years of history, Vietnam experienced many intense wars and difficulties to have dependence, knowing those histories make young generations proud of their ancients and appreciate more the value of life and liberty that they enjoy today. (2)Furthermore, through the history lessons, students can get deeply understanding about the core cultural and traditional values of the motherland, and have motivation to carry on the best mental assets for the next generation.

On the other side, the necessary of understanding the world history should not be underestimated. It is true that the local history have closed link to the world history and the customs of a country in some cases affected by the other country. Vietnam for instance, suffered 1000 years being dominated by China, the Vietnamese customs have roughly impacted by the Chinese traditions. Additionally, the modern globalization society requires young people to be armed with the principle knowledge about the different ethnic groups and traditions around the world. This broader perspective allows youngsters to form confidence in the international environment.

In conclusion, the national history is crucial for youngster to learn but it is by no means that the world history knowledge is out of consideration. They are both equally important.