Due to the widespread use of technological devices like smartphone and computers, some concers have risen among people over the effect that such tools could have on the way people interact with each other. Many claim that these days verbal communication inside families has almost died, while in the past family members were more likely to speak to each other. I do not believe that things have changed so much nowadays but there are some aspects worth being analyzed and some downsides ensued by the digital revolution, which should be taken into account as well.

A family is gathered around a table, the only noises are those from the kids, the stove, the kitchen and dishes. There is no TV, no radio, no computer and nobody is starring at his smartphone. Maybe the father is reading the newspaper before dinner is served. This could have been a typical dinner in a family living decades ago. In those days electronic devices like cell phones, TV or simply appliances have not been invented yet. In such a situation, we could conclude that people were more prone to speak to each other and express their feelings, which would be the most logical way to kill the time.

Although this scenario was very common, we should also mention than in the past education and rules were more strickt than they are today. In most of the cases children could speak only when allowed to do and women did not enjoy much freedom as well. It is therefore wrong to say that in the past family members talked more to each other than nowadays.

On the other hand, trying to analyze how technology has been affecting our lives since the last decades, we can actually observe that more and more people tend to spend too much time with their smartphones, checking messages, texting, surfing the internet and looking for items on sale. It hes become commonplace these days to see people bent on their devices unable to pay attention to the world around them but only focussed on the digital life imbedded the smartphone. The scene now has changed. The same family is gathered around the table, nobody is speaking but they are all typing on their devices, while appliances take care of the food and the dishwasher is ready to start. On the background a TV is broadcasting news nobody is paying attention to.

Althoug the explosion of digital technology can have its drawbacks, the silver lining of those devices is that indeed allows to reach out family members faster than in the past. It is also not true that communication inside a family is gone. Nobody is forced to use a smartphone or leaving the TV on the whole day. Nowadays it is still possbile to talk to each other, to open ourselves and to express our doubts, fears and dreams to our relatives.

To conclude, time does not play any role when it comes to communication. In the past as well as today, people are able to talk to each other. Technology can affect the way we communicate, but education and mentality also play a crucial role. From my point of view therefore I do not believe that nowadays communication between family members has worsened or plummeted compared to the past.