It is often cited that “Not everything that is learned is contained in books”. According to many, we learn most of the things from our own experience while others believe that books are our main source of knowledge.

Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

It is correctly said, "Experience is the teacher of man." Books and life experiences are alike when it comes to encouraging self-growth and originating from the real life; still, they pose striking differences in regard to what each of the knowledge caters to us and the memory timing level each of them has. It’s believed that knowledge acquired from experience is more important and valuable than bookish know-how.

No doubt, textbook wisdom and real world training are excellent sources of knowledge for self-development. Books are the primary fount of knowledge. They present us true facts, history, knowledge that we need to evolve as a true human. Besides, experience gathered in life provides us guideline and wisdom to broaden our horizon. It also gives us responsiveness to solve unexpected real life situations.

Furthermore, both datums have the same foundation, which is real life. While experience is gathered from the surrounding world, books are concentrations of it. People from all over the world have gone many places and seen many things, they’ve written about these so that they can preserve the knowledge they have to get with a considerable effort, and that later generation can use this information.

Despite being similar in some aspects, paper knowledge is unmatch when compared to first-hand experience.

Books provide theories whereas experience teaches us how to apply that knowledge in real life situations. For example, reading the book about learning to drive provides knowledge about various road signs, different driving situations, etc. However, we can only learn to drive skills by applying that knowledge by sitting behind the steering wheel of the car.

Moreover, the knowledge we obtain from personal experience remains with us longer than that we get from reading. Student learns a lot of vocabularies and grammar rules, but they cannot remember almost anything after a few years unless they review them again. On the contrary, by applying of all this knowledge in real life conversations, writing letters, learners can easily be proficient in the language.

To conclude, both books and practice have the same purpose and foundation. Bookish knowledge is theoretical and short-term memory whereas life experience is practical and long-term memory. While books many teach a person how to execute a particular task, they cannot sharpen his skills to deal with the world. It is rightly expressed by Albert Einstein that “Information is not knowledge. The only source of knowledge is experience.