people in many countries are spending less time with their families. what are the reasons, what are the effects of this trend?

A disturbing fact in modern society is that people have little to no time to spend with their families. It is widely believed that both the work pressure and poor understanding of family values are the primary reasons for this trend. Meanwhile, the negative impacts of it include bad relationships in their families and criminal behaviors to the society.

To begin with, work pressure is deemed as the most prominent reason for this phenomenon. This is because of the fast-paced corporate culture and competitive work atmosphere, individuals have to lean into work to have an opportunity for advancing on the ladder of success, resulting in the lack of time for their families and their children. Moreover, one fact that can explain the trend is the poor understanding of family values. The young, nowadays, prefer enjoying a range of outside activities with their friends to coming back home to get meaningful time with their beloved family members.

Given the above reasons, this trend might be trigger unfavorable effects on society as a whole and individuals in particular. Firstly, the most clearly seen impact is bad relationships. Due to the lack of time for family, people will find it hard to understand each other, leading to the lack of mutual understanding, sharing, sympathy, love, and so on. In addition, criminal behavior is also a serious consequence of this. For example, when parents do not spend much time with their children, they will lack appropriate parental care and attention and are likely to follow a path towards committing the crime.

To summarize, work pressure and poor understanding of family values are two factors leading to the fact that people hardly make time for their family. And this trend may contribute to not only bad relationships but criminal behaviors as well.