It is often said “when in Rome, do as the Romans do”. Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

The relationship of a vernacular and heritage is often questioned along with motive of reveling of the same. In my opinion, both culture and language go hand in hand, although not impossible, it becomes challenging to understand without language. I, also believe that tourists should be adaptive to the culture of a visiting region and be sensitive to their habits. This essay will discuss the reasons to blend into the lifestyle of a new country and also potential mistakes that could arise by not understanding the native speech.

There is ample evidence that it is more joyous and fulfilling when habits of a touring country are imbibed. The central reason for this is, during any unfamiliar situation in a foreign land it is advisable to follow the lead or acts of regional individuals. In addition to this, changing the style, clothing , food habits will give a completely new perspective of the world. To illustrate this, a report from International tourism board states that over 40% people have experienced a life altering when experienced a new culture during their visits. Therefore it is conclusively clear that it is essential for individuals to follow the norms of the region to have a better experience of the visit and less resistance to the hosts.

Although there is a case of heightened ordeal of the tour by understanding the nativity, the way to enhance is to learn the language. The language is how a culture is shaped and expressed. Knowing the semantics makes one connect with people and region at a deeper level. words and expressions used would give an insight into how the world is perceived by them and helps to not misunderstand it. For example, a word in English could have a completely different meaning in a European language. Using it in a country might not only be out of context but also borderline offensive. Thus it is possible to state that lingo is a route to acquire knowledge of a heritage.

To sum up, in my opinion, despite being able to maneuver one’s way into the habits of natives, I believe that language is the base that is to be understood to have a broader perspective and thus aid in accepting the culture, a crucial task to have a memorable outing and a way to be inclusive.