It is said that the amount of violence on the TV programs have negative effects on our social development and therefore should be reduced.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this Opinion?

There is no denying fact that more and more TV channels are showing programs which are portraying violence and have an appalling effect upon the community. Television is a major source of communication. It may bring us laughter and joys but may also incite hatred and violence, leading us towards deviant behaviors and crime. Some people believe that such programs should be reduced because these have appalling effects on the social development of a community to which I agree to some extent.

Over recent years, there has been an increasing amount of media violence. TV series are portraying serial killers, bombing, horror and brutal fightings to get higher TRP's. Moreover, news and documentaries are illustrating every aspect of a startling crime in the name of crime investigations. TV users are so used to these violent programs that they never think it disturbing but find it fun to watch.

Adolescents and adults are the greatest victims of this surge in media violence. Not yet able to distinguish between what is right or wrong, they often intimate the violence they observe on TV and accept it as a normal way to behave towards others. In a recent survey, it has been reported that many juvenile crimes are a direct result of viewing aggressive behaviors on TV. A responsible government should protect the general public by strictly regulating any inappropriate programs on TV.

Opponents of strict media control would argue that some of the violence shown on TV is the true portrayal of what is happening around us and people have the right to know it. Although this is true but people who see them a lot may gradually develop a sense of insecurity and mistrust as they forced to believe that they are living in a dangerous world.

In my opinion, TV programs should be subject to rigorous rules and regulations. All TV programs featuring violence should be outright banned.