It is said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.”

Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important?Why?

Learning is a long term process that continues till death. It is believed that book are not the only source to gain knowledge. Books and experiences, both are the elements to seek knowledge. In my opinion learning from experiences is far more important than that of books.

First of all, bookish knowledge can’t stay in mind for a long while the activity done by hands adheres to the memory. For example, when reading a book one need to pay full attention to learn something and half of the knowledge will remain while other lost immediately once leave a book. But what is done by hands or something learnt through hands on training remain with us until new approach developed. Moreover, there is sometimes need for some practical knowledge which may only be acquired with experiences and these skills and techniques are not mentioned in books. For example, physical exercises which demand more technical ways rather than text.

Experiences gained from different occasions of life are helpful to cope in a society. Everything is not mentioned in a book such as how to manage emotional responses. For example, they teach how to deal in desparity. A person able to keep himself strong and strengthened during a tough situation learnt this strategy from experiences of life not from books. In addition to this, few skills required experience to achieve perfection, books do not contain these skills strategies. They might need more and more practical application so that accuracy can be achieved. For example, surgical procedures performed by surgeaons demand more practical knowledge than bookish.

In conclusion, learning is an ongoing process which helps a person to live in a society. Hence, knowledge gained from experience is more persistent than acquires from books.