It is shown that many criminals have a low level of education, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate them in prison so that they can find a job after they leave prison. To what extent do you agree?

It has been observed that the level of education in many criminals seems to be low, and some people opine that educating them during imprisonment is an effective way to deter crime. I disagree with the fact that imparting education can lead to a reduction in crime rates.

To embark upon, many criminals are addicted to committing a crime from their childhood because they are from dysfunctional families that are struggling to meet their basic needs Even, in some countries entire family is proficient in enacting criminal activities. Even if they are provided education, they tend to execute a crime because it has stemmed from their generations. For example, multiple reports reveal that recidivism cases are increasing at an unprecedented rate as re-offenders turn into heinous criminals to meet their basic needs without any afraid of punishment. Therefore, educating criminals could not be effective in deterring crime.

Furthermore, most of the criminals are less reluctant in improving their qualifications because they have a weak educational background. Even some of them had never been to their schools since childhood. Also, still, if some have acquired education, they may not have fortified job prospects because, neither they are recruited by employers due to lack of trust, nor they are appreciated by the society, leading to social alienation. As a result, they breach the law to get money for survival. Therefore, educating criminals does not guarantee to lend a good job for them. Instead, they should be given vocational training and financial support to start their ventures after completing their punishment trials.

In conclusion, I believe that imparting education to prisoners seems to be less effective in providing good employment prospects and may lead to an increase in crime rate rather than deterring it.