It is thought by some that it is better to live in a city while others believe that life is better in the countryside.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Living in the city versus living in the countryside both have their own pros and cons. It would highly depend on what a person wants or needs, as well as his or her priorities.

Majority of the population choose to live in the city because of the wide range of job opportunities and the higher wages. Compared to the countryside, the city also has more entertainment choices like bigger shopping malls, established restaurants, huge cinemas, and a wilder nightlife; which has its certain allure, especially for the youth. On the other hand, higher wages almost certainly equates to higher costs of living. A large number of entertainment options also mean that you have a lot more things you can spend your money on. And to add to that, denser populations also mean greater pollution.

I most often hear people in their twenties say that they have moved to the city, but rarely hear them say they have moved to the countryside.

However rare, I have heard of stories where people who are ready to settle down and those who want to retire move to the countryside. As well as those who have initially moved to the city for work, moving back to their hometowns. Their reasons mostly consist of wanting to live a quiet and simple life, since they have grown tired of the expensive and fast-paced way of living in the city.

All in all, I do not have any strong feelings for either option. Whether people are currently driven by their passion for their career and social life or whether they are already prepared to settle down and live a more peaceful life highly influences their preference to either live in the city or the countryside.