Some people believe that men and women are equal and so women should be able to do any job they want. Others feel that men and women are not equal and therefore there are certain jobs which are not suitable for women.

What is your opinion?

Equality is such a vague word to use for men and women, especially to distinguish how each one will be categorized or branded as suitable for certain jobs.

Honestly, I don’t believe that men and women are equal. Because they definitely are not. Men and women were not made to mimic each other, but instead were made to complement each. However, just because this fact exists doesn’t mean that they should not be given equal opportunities in terms of profession. Men and women should be able to do any job they want and should not be treated with any form of discrimination during the hiring process and in the workplace for already securing a certain job.

One good example of this would be promotions that are given to men just because of their gender, since there are still people who exercise this kind of mindset, that men are the superior sex. Job suitability, I believe, is about one's experience and knowledge of the field and nothing to do with one’s gender. Performance and excellence in a certain career has a lot to do with one’s passion and dedication, whether it is a desk job or something that has to do with hard labor.

Men and women are definitely not the same in so many aspects, especially when it comes to physical attributes, but just because men and women are different doesn’t mean they should be discriminated against for certain jobs. Men and women should be given equal opportunities and should be treated fairly.