Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does it cause?

What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Two days ago, I read an article about the influence of big enterprises on the local habit of shopping. The author states that both promo actions and advertisements, which are widely used by wealthy corporations, affect their preferences. This essay will consider the problems of this change and suggest steps to stimulating people to buy domestic goods.

The first problem is the closure of small companies. When a corporation opens its branches in the region, many smaller entrepeneurs start to suffer from the unequal competition with it since they have little finding to either introduce themselves in the media nor hold promotions. Another problem with large businesses is high prices. Once a weak rivalry in the market is reached by various advertising campaigns, they gradually increase the prices for their products and services. The last problem is a monotony in products. As soon as corporation dominates in the market, it has no interest in attempting to offer alternative products. As a result, people cannot enjoy other high-quality products, which are devised by other companies, at a lower price.

One of the measures to arouse public interest in buying local products is for the government to introduce them to the market. Generally, it is hardly possible to find the information about domestic producers, since they do not have as much budget for advertisement as big ones. Despite this, if the government supported them by allocating some time for small companies on state channels, they would have the opportunity to show their local products to the public. Consequently, domestic manucturers would be well known to society and be able to compete with large businesses.

In conclusion, large companies pose many problems to the local market by decreasing the number of small businesses, increasing prices and providing no options to consumers. In spite of this, the government could raise public awareness of local products by showing their products of internal manufacturers.