I recent times, due to globalization many multinational companies and large firm have started setting up their business all over the world. These companies through their aggressive marketing strategy have started capturing the local market to a great extent. This essay will discuss the problems associated with aggressive marketing and provide solution for local business firm so that they can in a small way sustain in this competitive world.

Many MNC companies invest huge finances on marketing their product. These companies have various marketing strategy like advertising through media and newspapers, tends to attract local consumers. This has certainly created problem not only to the local business but also to the local community as well.

Firstly, through advertisement these companies tend to create a brand value. By doing so, people tend to associate a given product with this brand name. For example, Besleri is associated with mineral water. Similarly, XEROX is associated with Photocopy. In this way, these company create brand name which result in many people blindly purchasing these product, without through investigating.

Secondly, through promotion and sales, people tend to get carried away with huge discount rates. These discounted rates can be offered only by large companies, as they purchase a products or goods in whole sale. People get carried over by the discounted rates and tend to purchase products which are of no use to them. For example, people already having mobile tend to get carried by the discount offered by these firm and go ahead purchasing new mobile. This results in unnecessary purchase and waste of money.

In my opinion, firstly, the government needs to provide subsidiary and tax benefit to the local business. Secondly, the government should monitor the advertising that is misleading. In this way locals are safe from the viscous trap. Lastly, local firms needs to try means to be competitive by advertising their product on various online site like Facebook, and youtube.

To conclude, many large companies use marketing and promotion as a driving force for selling their products, resulting in the downfall of local companies. There are number of ways the government and the entrepreneur of local firm needs to take to protect their local business.