Plastic having unique properties, are widely used, to make shopping bags and containers. Some people are of the opinion that use of plastic bags and container should be completely restricted, as they are the major contributor in polluting the environment.However, in my opinion, banning plastic bag is not a solution but by proper disposing off the plastic waste will prevent environmental damage due to plastic.

In recent times, plastic are used to make numerous daily products. Plastic were introduces as a substitute for wood, glass and certain metals. Plastic bags are not only attractive and cheap, as compared to cloth bags but also durable and waterproof as compared to paper bags. These unique properties of plastic made it to be widely used as shopping bags.

Plastic, has numerous advantage. However, it's one major disadvantage is it is non bio-degradable. In other word, plastic product do not decompose with time. This has resulted in plastic being a major contributor in damaging the environment.For example, plastic when dumped in the ocean not only affect the beauty of the ocean but also has adverse effect on marine life. These marine animals accidentally consume pieces of plastic which causes indigestion , resulting in death of the species. Similarly, on land when plastic is not properly dumped, the innocent animals swallow the plastic bag. Thus result in death of the animals due to choking. Therefore, care must be taken to dispose off plastic so that it should not create damage to animals and nature.

I am thus of the opinion that plastic bags being the main culprit for ecological damage. However, by completely restricting it use will not solve the problem of global warming, as plastic was being introduced as a substitute of wood. Now will a ban on plastic people will turn to paper as a substitute. This will result in numerous trees getting cut down affecting the environment. Plastic needs to be therefore properly disposed without affecting the environment.For example, country like Singapore burns plastic in an incinerator and produces electricity. Therefore, by just banning the use of plastic is not the solution to the problem but by creating dumping ground for plastic and creating awareness among people the effects curbed.

In conclusion, plastic has numerous advantage and by completely restricting the use of plastic will result in other material being utilized on large scale. So according to me, the best option is to definitely minimize the use of plastic and through proper disposing the plastic waste the environment can be safe.