In today’s world one can communicate to people across the globe through internet or various text messengers. Some people claim that by doing so physical interaction between people has considerable reduced. I do agree to certain extent because in today’s generation, people are more comfortable texting instead of personal conversation. This essay will discuss why personal interaction has reduced.

In recent time, with the advancement in communication system the world is brought closer together through various communication techniques. With the introduction of social networking sites like Facebook and Orkut, messages and information can be shared globally within second as compared to earlier times where people had to write letters and post it, taking days to receive. This advancement in communication system like internet has numerous advantages. Firstly, one can interact with number of colleague simultaneously. For example as compared to the past where communication could be done one to one, with the internet and group conversation features, more number of people can be part of the interaction. Secondly, one can check for grammatical mistake or think over the consequence before sending a text message. For example people have the opportunity to go through the message and correct it before sending it.

Although, recent communication system has numerous advantages, it mitigating effect on human being. Humans are so habituated with online chatting that they get addicted and slowly lose interest in personal interaction. They tend to feel shy when it comes to face to face interaction and tend to be very uncomfortable. They prefer to have conversation where the opposite person is not seeing them. For example children at dinner table won’t even dare to look at their parent during conversation. They tend to become introvert and are comfortable in their own imaginary boundary.

To recapitulate, modern means of communication system has brought the world closer through video chatting and texting. However, it has adversely affected human behavior and made them introvert. Therefore, some people fear that with increasing population using online chatting features, face to face interaction will soon fade away.