Libraries should focus on improving their technological resources rather than on building a large collection of paper books.

To what extent do you agree?

There is an issue about adopting modern technologies in libraries. Some librarians think that it will have a positive effect on the attendance. This essay disagrees with their point of view.

Let us start with reasons why some librarians suggest that libraries should concentrate on modern devices. The first reason is that visitors can find any unavailable information online. It often happens that library guests cannot find a book, so they can find an digital version of it on the web through the free wireless connection sitting at computers. Another reason is that many readers use compact and portable appliances. To do some research, students can take both books and personal laptops to either perform their calculation or make a presentation with a wi-fi connection, which is freely accessible in the book depository. Furthermore, public clubs can use large screens for demonstration. Various meetings, such as Toastmaster, often rent projectors as well as computers from the library, because their participants need to show visual part of their speech.

However, some readers state that libraries should collect more books than technologies. Firstly, the usage of contemporary devices often disturbs other readers. Visitors usually complain to the library administrator about annoying sounds, which comes from other people sitting at the next table with, for instance, smartphones in the auditorium, while they are attempting to focus on reading. Secondly, paper books are more convenient. Many people cannot read from either computer screens or mobile phones, so they usually need traditional books, which they can find in the library. Moreover, people can escape from persvasive gadgets in the library. Libraries are usually considered quiet places, where people can feel either away or irritated by computerized devices as well as the Internet.

In conclusion, although some readers state that libraries should pay more attention on books, I think that they should equip some rooms with computers and wi-fi routers as well.