Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is a fact that one has to use foreign language where he is living, it will obviously create major social and practical problems. In this essay, I will discuss both of the issues.

To have a happy and secure life, it is important to reside in a society and there the medium of communication is language. If the language is foreign, it will obviously a barrier for one to communicate with his neighbor. For example, in a French-speaking society, French is preferred language of speaking. So a Tamil-speaking person will obviously face obstacles to talk with others. This means he will not be able to talk or share his views with his neighbors properly which is a serious social problem.

Not only social problems but also practical problems are major problems in a foreign language speaking society. Firstly, finding a job would be a difficult one. In Quebec, for instance, French speaking people are preferred in the job sectors, so in that place an English speaker have to face lots of difficulties to secure his place. Even if he is potential, the recruiter will prefer that candidate who has no language problem with less potentiality. Another problem that occurs in schools when a child finds himself in a new place where the others are speaking in a language which is not known to him. It takes lots of time for him to communicate with his classmates and it becomes a psychological pressure for him in the long run.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that if the language of living place is foreign, it is must that it will create social and practical problems. From communicating with neighbor to finding jobs, everywhere it would be a problem and one has to face obstacles.