Every country has its language. This arrangement can cause some difficulties for a person who moves to a foreign country and has to speak a foreign language. While I do admit that this can be quite challenging in the first few weeks, in my opinion, most people will overcome the language barrier reasonably quickly.

There is no doubt that language is the first problem that an immigrant faces in a foreign land. Not being able to speak the native language can affect their ability to socialise and make friends. It can also affect their work efficiency because they are not able to give or take instructions. Going shopping, getting medical help, or asking for directions can be equally challenging for someone who does not speak or understand the native language. However, in my opinion, none of these difficulties causes any severe issues because any language can be learned with a little effort.

One thing that makes life easier for immigrants is the universal acceptance of English. More than 70% of the world population has at least a working knowledge of English. This knowledge is more than enough to survive for the first few weeks in a foreign country. Even in countries like Russia, Japan, or China where English is not spoken widely, it is still possible to find people who can read, write, and speak it reasonably well.

Also, in order to learn a new language, we only have to get exposed to it. If we hear a new language regularly or all the time, our brain will automatically pick it up. For this reason, learning a foreign language in a foreign country is more accessible than learning it while we are still in our country. Also, people who are interested in moving abroad can do themselves a favour and learn at least the basics of the foreign language because packing their bags.

To conclude, many people believe that having to converse in a foreign language can cause problems for immigrants; however, in my opinion, this is not a big issue because with a little effort most people can learn the foreign language and adapt to the new environment within a few weeks.