Local people do not go very often to museum or historical sites. Why is that? what can be done to change the situation?

It has always been observed that local people won't visit the museum and historical places often as compare to tourists. Museum and historical sites are of great importance for any city as it describes the culture and history of the place.

There are ample reasons why local don't visit the historical places such as caves or place or museum. To begin with, the place is almost same for over the years, so local citizens have already seen many a time so they will not go again and again to visit the same place. Secondly, it has noticed that people don't have much interest in history as a subject in their academics as well, which leads to less amount of interest in museum and historical places. Further more, these places do not have any other leisure or entertainment activity so even younger one's will not visit much to these places.

To increase the number of foot fall in such places, first of fall government or local municipal corporation should renovate the place with modern amenities such as restaurants or washrooms keeping its historical touch. To illustrate the same in Mumbai, there is one aquarium which is renovated after 50 years of service with latest air conditioning system, viewing angles, sound system and which led to increase number of visitors. Secondly, at these places some audio visual system should be set up which give details of about the place, which ultimately enhance the visiting experience of visitors. More over some activities to be schedule to retain interest of locality on regular interval, and local advertisement about such activities will increase the number of visitors either at museum or at historical places.

To sum up, along with change in time these places also needs to be updated with latest technology and entertainment activities also increase the visitors.