Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives.

In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

Life expectancy has surged within a few years undoubtedly. Owing to medical advancements and longer life spans, sexagenarians and octogenarians are able to live a healthy, happy and physically fit life. These raise in population of old people would impact the society in numerous ways and this essay will discuss them further.

There are certain advantages of having an elder person around. To begin with, elder people generally hold a vast experience in dealing with the hurdles of life. In this fast pace world, where people are lonely and depressed, it would be nice to have an old parent to stick around his/her child and guide them though the important life decisions. In addition, unlike the people of the younger generation, they are filled with enthusiasm and positive energy. Their zealous personality and supporting nature would always help a person to live life to the fullest. For instance, the kids of a family with a grandparent are much more joyful in nature then those who live with working parents.

However, there are a few downsides to this trend. Firstly, when the longevity of people increases, it would become difficult for the government to provide them with incentives. Also, there will be competition among younger individuals and senior citizens for same job positions. Secondly, the old people are way too rigid to accept the new reforms that are introduced within a society and their general nonacceptance would create chaos among the communities.

In conclusion, despite of few demerits of having old people around, having them in society is more beneficial. Especially when more and more people are suffering from loneliness and depression, it would be helpful if they have some elderly to guide through tough situations.