Longer life spans and improvements in the health of older people suggest that people over the age of sixty-five can continue to live full and active lives.

In what ways can society benefit from the contribution that older people can make?

The health of senior citizens have been neglected significantly over the past few decades. However, with the increasing mortality rate and better health care facility to the elderly, some believe that people over 65 years of age can live full fledged lives. This essay will elaborate the various benefits our senior folk add to the society.

Firstly, the elderly bring expertise in various fields of science and technology. To elaborate, the elderly have practiced and worked on various fields of science for their entire lives. Such a repository of knowledge is a priceless asset that would benefit mankind in numerous ways. For example, a poll conducted by the UCLA showed that 55% of the worlds knowledge and experience was held by those aged above 65 years. Furthermore the experience that the aged possess will help us avoid any errors that they encountered in the past thereby significantly expediting scientific developments.

Secondly, the older citizens bring wisdom that enables an overall balance of life. That is, senior citizens have seen the fast pace of adolescence and the docile path of becoming old. This enables them to teach the younger society of how to live a more balanced life. For instance my grandfather always approached even the most excruciatingly challenging and time critical situations in a calm and orderly manner. In contrast the younger people panic at the drop of a hat. Additionally, such wisdom could also help us disarm any kind of aggressive situation in a focused manner.

To conclude, the senior citizens bring a lot to the table, be it from their experience or through their unending reservoir of wisdom, thereby adding more value to the society as a whole.