Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad.

To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved?

What are the drawbacks?

It is obvious that studying in a foreign nation has become a trend among today's youth. Consequently, the number of students opting to pursue their academics abroad is increasing. While there are benefits to such a development, there are also some drawback. This essay will try and address both sides of the issue with suitable examples.

Firstly, by studying abroad, students get better prospects for their future. To elaborate, studying in a foreign nation helps the students get access to a better quality of education. Such quality education gives them access to better job opportunities and consequently a better quality of life. For example, a study conducted by the Indian education department showed that students who pursued higher education in the US had a 90% probability to live a better standard of life in comparison to those who studied in India. Furthermore, the countries that accept such international students stand the benefit of finances they bring with them thereby building the nations GDP. For example, international student fees contribute 2% to USA's GDP.

That being said, the pursuit to study abroad also brings the burden of finances on students. That is, a student who chooses to finish his academics abroad also bears the brunt of the humongous financial burden that comes along with it. For instance, an international student who does a 2 year program in the US has a whopping debt of 250000 US dollars. Additionally the student also has to start life anew. That is a student has to adapt to a new culture he is exposed to. Furthermore the student might have to adapt to a new language as well depending on the nation he chooses to study in. For example, to study in France one has to adapt to both its culture and also learn French.

To summarize, while studying abroad has a lot of perks attached to it such as a chance at a better life and a financial benefit to the nation, it however also runs the risk of financial burden on the student and brings up the need to adapt to a new culture and language.