The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they shouldn’t waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extend do you agree or disagree with the statement.

It is believed that this decade is dedicated to technological advancements where computers are so compact as well as affordable, even softwares are becoming a viable option to purchase for any specific purpose. In this case, I support the notion that having rich media resources is inevitable for libraries as it is less spacious and inexpensive. Nowadays, libraries are well equipped with all the hi-tech media facilities which not only provides latest digital contents but also provides softwares where one can easily navigate through references, plus one can also find the exact meaning of relative vocabularies.

Hi-tech media does not occupy more space, and also becomes the cheaper option to avail digital devices and relative softwares. These hardware-software combination is giving a whole new experience to the users in terms of availing latest updates on a particular topic. Additionally, many of the professional fields in today’s time require an immediate update, so via DVDs, it is achievable to maintain cutting edge knowledge. For example, many lang libraries are encouraging their member to go for this new option as they would get something extra. Five computers in a single row are occupying as much space as five reading tables, so space could not be the issue. Additionally, these libraries almost buying refurbish products so cost is also not an issue.

Another benefit of availing hi-tech resources at libraries is the members can find out what that need easily without hovering through each section. The topic, members are keen about can navigate easily with their references as well as they also know the meaning of some field related terminology using built-in dictionary.

So, if all these material could be accommodated in one single computer or DVD then space should not be the issues for libraries. For example, one of the municipality libraries in my city has replaced many books with DVDs. These DVDs are properly labeled so that it is easy for the user to find reference DVDs. They also removed one complete rack of science section to avail space for setup of the computers and DVD.

To conclude, many benefits of providing digital media clearly outweighs the space and limited resources issues. Particularly today’s digital options are so small and less costly that any library would give a thought on having these facilities on premises.