The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they shouldn’t waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no doubt that a library is of key importance in offering students ample opportunity to augment their knowledge in numerous fields from arts and science to trade and commerce. A school of thought, however, contends that libraries should focus only on increasing their collection of books, not on expensive media such as DVDs and computer software, because the collection of books is what a library is recognised and renowned for. This notion, in my opinion, merits little consideration as the ubiquity of technology has dramatically changed the way people access information and knowledge today.

There are a number of arguments in favour of investing money by libraries on electronic media storage.The most preponderant one is that the way people now read books and attain knowledge is no longer the same as it was even a decade or two earlier, prior to the advent of hi-tech media. Not only can readers store hundreds of e-books, electronic copies of paper-based books, in a single device like e-book readers and tablet devices, but they can also retrieve these books later and read them more conveniently without worrying about carrying them. Needless to say, it is high time libraries should also utilise this technological advancement and offer both the hard as well as the soft copies to readers. It should be mentioned here that technology also allows the libraries to ensure that the books can be accessed only for a certain period and can be copied to no other device, thus helping to avoid piracy and copyright concerns.

Another pivotal aspect of CDs and DVDs is that they can help elaborate something more clearly and effectively with the audio-visual effects they have. Besides, by using computer software instead of a heavy encyclopedia or dictionary, learners can grasp things promptly, augment their knowledge successfully and broaden their horizons efficiently. Hence, it is apparent why many are in favour of libraries’ using state-of-the-art technological devices.

From what has been discussed, one can conclude that an immense change in people's reading habit stemming from the advent of technological media sources demands that libraries allocate significant amount of money on keeping CDs, DVDs and software as well as on maintaining a rich collection of books. This will not only cater to the need of growing number of young learners that prefer these new forms of media to the conventional ones, but also benefit learning enormously.