The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Libraries are the repositories of never-ending knowledge. It is true that the sole responsibility of libraries is to provide conventional printed materials. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the advancement in technologies libraries should include the latest media applications of providing knowledge such as CDs and DVDs.

It is believed that libraries are meant to provide an ambiance and surrounding that motivate people to read books and gain knowledge, with the availability of videos and audios will distract the mind of people and the overall objective of the library will be lost. Moreover, the libraries cannot install the latest technology with the availability of squandering cost and limited resources.

Despite some of the few negatives of having the latest technology in libraries, the idea that they are useless and do not enhance eruition is completely preposterous as CDs and DVDs do not occupy much of shelf space than the books. The use of latest media applications like computer software and documentaries will help people to gain the understanding about the various aspects with the use of videos and pictures, and there is a justified verbalization that people tend to remember the videos and images for a longer period rather than mugging up the content from books. Furthermore, individuals can read novels and books on laptops and computers in the comfort of their homes or while traveling and will not be required to carry heavy books. To elucidate, CDs and DVDs with cartoon videos and songs for children will help them to gain a better understanding which they will remember for their entire life

To conclude, I vehemently agree that libraries should enable them with advanced technology and media applications as this will increase their significance and needs in society.