The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Libraries are the repositories of never-ending knowledge. Although, it is believed that the sole responsibility of libraries is to provide conventional printed materials. In my opinion, I strongly agree that with the advancement in technology libraries should include the latest media applications of providing knowledge such as CDs and DVDs.

It is believed that information centres are meant to provide an ambiance and surrounding that motivate people to read books and gain knowledge, the availability of videos and audios will distract the mind of people and the overall objectivity of libraries in increasing understanding will be lost. Moreover, libraries not only have squandering cost and limited resources but also they do not receive any funding from government that aid them in install the latest technology with the availability of squandering cost and limited resources.

Despite some of the few negatives, the idea that installing audio and video devices are useless and do not enhance erudition is completely preposterous. CDs and DVDs do not occupy much of shelf space than the books, furthermore, they help people to gain understanding about the various aspects with the use of graphics and pictures, Additionally, individuals can read novels and books on laptops and computers at the comfort of their homes or while traveling. To elucidate, CDs and DVDs with cartoon videos and songs for children will help them to gain a better understanding which they will remember for their entire life

To conclude, I vehemently agree that libraries should enable them with advanced technology and media applications as this will increase their significance and needs in society.